Project Adoption Help?

Coordinator
Apr 9, 2013 at 10:23 PM
Edited Apr 9, 2013 at 10:24 PM
I've been working on getting the CodePlex site ready for our VS2012 release, which we expect this month. I am hoping to re-invigorate the community that we may have disheartened and lost because of the long delay to the project for this next release. Its heartbreaking for us to have had this delay, and we are hoping to recover from it. The goal of the recent effort has been to make things very easy for anyone to get involved with the project both users and new contributors.

From what I am learning from various sources about guiding a project like this one is that its is absolutely -critical- for the continued development and longevity of the project to make some key scenarios as easy as possible. Such as: making it easy to install the software, making it easy to contribute or update to the software, making people feel welcome, making documentation accessible and things like that. Doing things that makes acceptance and involvement in the project much easier, and that empowers everyone to get and keep the project ticking over. My primary role now.

If you have been following the activity on the project for a while you may have seen much activity around the wiki pages in various areas over the last few months.

Hopefully, we are now at the stage where we may have all the main pieces in place. It is now a question of testing those out on real humans and ensuring they are of a high enough quality that encourages involvement in the project. For that I really need your help!

I need help in determining of the project site (this site) is:
  1. Welcoming, and looking alove and vibrant
  2. If it answers the main questions that a new visitor to the site would need to answer to dig further.
  3. If installing the software is an easy and guided process
  4. If a new 'developer' can easily discover how to aquire the software, build it easily and submit a patch.